

Ofcom list of larger parties

Publication date: 11 March 2016

Ofcom list of larger parties

- 1. This document sets out the definition of "larger parties" as applies to Section Six of the Ofcom Broadcasting Code¹ and the Ofcom rules on Party Political and Referendum Broadcasts².
- 2. Of com will periodically review the definition of "larger parties", taking account of relevant evidence, such as changes in the electoral landscape, across a range of elections.
- 3. At present in England and Wales, larger parties are defined as: the Conservative Party; the Labour Party; the Liberal Democrats; and the UK Independence Party.
- 4. In addition, larger parties in Wales include Plaid Cymru.
- 5. The larger parties in Scotland are: the Conservative Party; the Labour Party; the Liberal Democrats; and the Scottish National Party.
- 6. The larger parties in Northern Ireland are: the Alliance Party; the Democratic Unionist Party; Sinn Fein; the Social Democratic and Labour Party; and the Ulster Unionist Party.
- 7. In addition to the above, in England the larger parties for the purposes of the London Assembly and London Mayoral elections taking place on 5 May 2016 include the Green Party.

-

¹ See http://stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/broadcasting/broadcast-codes/broadcast-code/elections/

² See http://stakeholders.ofcom.org.uk/binaries/broadcast/guidance/ppbrules.pdf