Ofcom awards three new community radio licences in Scotland

20 July 2012

Ofcom today announces the award of three new community radio licences for services in Scotland.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular geographical community or a community of interest. The new awards mean that 257 community radio licences have been awarded.

The awards are to:

  • Sound of Mull Radio, Isle of Mull and Iona
  • Camglen Radio, Cambuslang & Rutherglen
  • Celtic Music Radio, Glasgow (this service will move from its current licence on AM to an FM frequency)

Details of these new community radio services are as follows:

Sound of Mull Radio (Isle of Mull and Iona)

Contact:  Norman Quirk
Public Address: Sound of Mull Radio, Ardsorn, Raeric Road, Tobermory, Isle of Mull PA75 6PU
Email Address:  norman@quirk.co.uk
Phone Number: 01688 301223

Sound of Mull Radio will serve the islanders living on the Isle of Mull & Iona. It will reflect the unique island life, culturally, linguistically and socially, and will give a voice to islanders.

Camglen Radio (Cambuslang & Rutherglen, South Lanarkshire)

Contact:  Tam Curry
Public Address: Healthy n Happy, 57 Belmont Road, Whitlawburn, Cambuslang, South Lanarkshire, G72 8PG
Email Address:  tamcamglen@googlemail.com
Phone Number: 0141 646 0123
Website: www.camglenradio.org

Camglen Radio will be a local service for Cambuslang, Rutherglen and surrounding areas broadcasting content that reflects the interests, needs, richness and diversity of the communities served.

Celtic Music Radio (Glasgow)

Contact: Robert McWilliam
Public Address: Celtic Music Radio Ltd, Livingstone Tower, 26 Richmond Street, Glasgow G1 1XH
Email Address: info@celticmusicradio.net
Phone Number: 0141 548 3397 or 07980 953 107
Website: www.celticmusicradio.net

Celtic Music Radio is a station for those with an interest in contemporary and traditional Scottish music and song. It currently broadcasts on AM, but as a result of this licence award the station can move onto FM and will return the AM licence.

Licences are awarded for a five-year period.

A statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of the community radio licences referred to above will be published on our website in due course.



  1. In addition to the licence awards detailed above, Ofcom considered two further applications, but decided not to award a licence to the following groups:Paisley FM (Paisley)Ark FM (Glasgow)
  2. Applications for community radio licences are being invited on a region-by-region basis.  Further details can be found on the Ofcom website.