Ofcom awards six new community radio licences

01 February 2018

Ofcom has today announced the award of six new community radio licences in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales.

The new stations will serve communities in Banbridge in County Down, Northern Ireland; Paisley in Renfrewshire, Scotland; Aberystwyth in Ceredigion, Wales; Burgess Hill in West Sussex; and South Dartmoor and Torbay in Devon.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular area or community of interest.

More than 250 community radio stations are currently on air today.

The six new community radio licences have been awarded to:

Radio Aber (Radio Aber Limited)
Contact name: Al Frean
Website: www.rbfmlive.co.uk

Radio Aber will broadcast to people in Aberystwyth and surrounding areas.

Bounce FM (Bounce FM)
Contact name: Robin Murray
Website: www.bouncefm.co.uk

Bounce FM will be a radio station for the people of Banbridge in Northern Ireland.

Burgess Hill Radio (Burgess Hill Community Radio CIC)
Contact name: Jerry Bradford
Website: www.burgesshillradio.co.uk

Burgess Hill Radio will be a community radio service for Burgess Hill, West Sussex.

Paisley FM (Paisley FM (2017) Limited)

Contact name: Robert McWilliam
Website: www.paisleyfm.co.uk

Paisley FM will be a radio station for the people of Paisley and the surrounding areas in Renfrewshire, Scotland.

Riviera FM (Riviera FM Limited)
Contact name: Martin Foster
Website: www.riviera.fm

Riviera FM will serve Torbay and the surrounding area including Torquay, Paignton and Brixham (Devon).

Skylark (Skylark Sounds)
Contact name: Lucinda Guy

Skylark will serve the people of South Dartmoor, Devon.

The licences are awarded for a five-year period. See our statement setting out the main determining factors for the award of these licences (PDF, 166.6 KB).

Notes for editors

1. In addition to the licence awards detailed above, Ofcom considered three further applications, but decided not to award a licence to the following:

  • Love Radio (Love Radio Limited), Medway Towns
  • Panj Pani Radio (Panj Pani Radio Limited), Leamington Spa
  • Seagull FM (Seagull FM Limited), Torbay

Ofcom decided not to consider an application from the following:

  • Radio Paisley Ltd

2. Licensee contact details are available on request.