Ofcom Risk and Audit Committee

Published: 8 January 2024

The Risk and Audit Committee is responsible for ensuring the maintenance of appropriate and adequate audit processes and the governance of the internal audit and external audit programme.

It is a sub-committee of the Ofcom Board and is chaired by a non-executive member of the Ofcom Board.

Further details of the Committee’s duties are explained within their terms of reference.

28 February 2024

15 May 2024

10 June 2024

18 September 2024

4 December 2024

The Risk & Audit Committee considers a number of fixed agenda items during the year:

  • March/April Internal Audit Programme update & approval of plan; progress on the interim audit of accounts; Insurance update; financial authorities framework (every other year);
  • June Internal Audit Programme update, executive summaries for completed audits & annual summary of assurance; Annual Report & Accounts: Audit Completion Report, Ofcom Annual Report Sections A to D, Financial Statement and S400 Accounts for the year ending 31st March; NAO Management Letter; outcome of the annual Risk Review
  • September/October Internal Audit Programme update & executive summaries for completed audits; Terms of Reference; Audit Committee annual performance self-assessment; Business Continuity update; external audit performance assessment; Treasury policy
  • December Internal Audit Programme update, executive summaries for completed internal audits & proposed internal audit plan; Audit Strategy (for the following year); Ofcom Annual Report & Accounts proposed structure & timeline; Whistleblowing procedure (every other year)

In addition, the Risk & Audit Committee notes the following updates throughout the year: Security Committee, Finance, Litigation report, fraud & security.

The Committee members are appointed by the Ofcom Board from amongst its Non-Executive Members or from outside the Board and shall consist of not fewer than three Members. The Chair of the Committee is appointed by the Ofcom Board and shall be a Non-Executive Member of the Board but not the Board Chair to ensure the independence of the Risk & Audit Committee. The members of the Risk and Audit Committee are:

  • Angela Dean (Chair)
  • Karen Baxter
  • Will Harding

The Chief Executive and Finance Director are invited to attend Committee meetings, as are the internal and external auditors.

Register of disclosable interest and biographies

Back to top