Business Connectivity Market Review - May 2015

  • Start: 15 May 2015
  • Status: Closed
  • End: 31 July 2015

Ofcom's Business Connectivity Market Review examines the markets for the provision of leased lines to businesses in the UK.

Leased lines are high-quality, dedicated, point-to-point data transmission services used by businesses and providers of communications services. As well as being essential components of many businesses communications systems, they are also essential to support the provision of mobile telephone and fixed residential broadband services.

Every three years, Ofcom conducts a review of competition in the markets for the provision of leased lines in the UK. Where we find that a provider has "significant market power" (SMP) in a market (i.e. that they are able to act independently of competition) we impose regulations designed to address concerns about the impact of that market power on competition.

This document is a consultation in relation to the current review. It sets out our provisional analysis of the market and identifies segments of the market in which we propose that a provider has SMP. The document also sets out what regulations we propose to impose to address such SMP.

Ofcom's Business Connectivity Market Review examines the provision of leased lines to businesses in the UK.

Leased lines are high-quality, dedicated, point-to-point data transmission services used by businesses and providers of communications services. They are essential components not only of many business information and communication technology (ICT) services, but also of mobile and residential broadband services.

Every three years, Ofcom conducts a review of competition in the provision of leased lines in the UK. Where we find that a provider has "significant market power" (SMP) we impose regulations appropriate for protecting the interests of consumers in light of the competition concerns raised.

This statement sets out our analysis of the relevant markets, identifying markets in which a provider has SMP. The document also sets out the remedies we are imposing to address the competition problems that would otherwise arise from such SMP, including controls on the prices that BT can charge for these services.

Business Connectivity Market Review - Final Statement - Volume I PDF, 4.9 MB

Business Connectivity Market Review - Final Statement - Volume II PDF, 1.5 MB

Annexes 1-13 PDF, 4.2 MB

Annexes 14-25 PDF, 2.6 MB

Annexes 26-27 PDF, 521.7 KB

Annexes 28 - Base year cost adjustment to reflect the cost attribution review PDF, 1.1 MB

Annexes 29-30 PDF, 1.4 MB

Annex 31 - NERA report PDF, 1.4 MB

Annexes 32-34 PDF, 1.5 MB

Annex 35 PDF, 1.6 MB

BCMR Very Low Bandwidth Services – Final Statement, Statement published 28|04|2016

European Commission comments on the draft BCMR statements   PDF, 256.9 KB

LLCC Models  Winzip File ZIP, 72.4 MB

CEPA letter – LLCC Model review PDF, 283.4 KB

Openreach letter of 21 June 2016 concerning the provision of key performance indicators (KPIs) PDF, 303.4 KB

Ofcom response of 29 June 2016 to Openreach’s letter of 21 June 2016 concerning KPIs PDF, 153.4 KB

Ofcom's Business Connectivity Market Review examines the provision of leased lines to businesses in the UK. Leased lines are high-quality, dedicated, point-to-point data transmission services used by businesses and providers of communications services.

They are essential components not only of many business information and communication technology (ICT) services, but also of mobile and residential broadband services. Every three years, Ofcom conducts a review of competition in the provision of leased lines in the UK. Where we find that a provider has 'significant market power' (SMP) we impose regulations appropriate for protecting the interests of consumers in light of the competition concerns raised. This draft statement sets out our analysis of the relevant markets, identifying markets in which a provider has SMP.

The document also sets out the remedies we are imposing to address the competition problems that would otherwise arise from such SMP, including controls on the prices that BT can charge for these services. This draft statement has been notified to the European Commission. We expect to publish the final statement in April 2016 taking into account any comments from the European Commission as appropriate.

Business Connectivity Market Review - Draft statement - Volume I  PDF, 5.9 MB

Business Connectivity Market Review - Draft statement - Volume II Statement published 22|03|2016 PDF, 2.2 MB

Business Connectivity Market Review – Very Low Bandwidth Leased Lines – draft Statement

Annexes 1-13  PDF, 4.4 MB

Annexes 14-25  PDF, 3.4 MB

Annexes 26-27  PDF, 524.0 KB

Annex 28 – Base Year Cost Adjustment to Reflect the Cost Attribution Review  PDF, 1.2 MB

Annexes 29-30  PDF, 1.4 MB

Annex 31 – NERA Report PDF, 1.4 MB

Annexes 32-34  PDF, 1.5 MB

Annex 35 – Legal Instruments  PDF, 1.1 MB

BDRC CI Survey Feb 2016 PDF, 1006.7 KB

LLCC Interim Arrangements - Ofcom response PDF, 46.2 KB

LLCC Interim Arrangements - OR letter  PDF, 217.8 KB

LLCC Interim Arrangements - BTW letter PDF, 130.1 KB

This document sets  out clarifications and corrections to the consultation document on the Business  Connectivity Market Review published on 15 May 2015 and the Leased lines charge  controls and dark fibre pricing consultation, published on 12 June 2015.

Clarifications and corrections to the Business Connectivity Market Review consultation document of 15 May 2015 and the Leased Lines Charge Controls and Dark Fibre Pricing consultation document of 12 June 2015 (9 July 2015) PDF, 43.8 KB

This document proposes an amendment to one of the regulatory conditions imposed on BT under the April 2016 Business Connectivity Market Review. See the consultation.


Download documents

Associated document

Annexes 1-13
(PDF File, 4.2 MB)
Download
Annexes 14-25
(PDF File, 2.6 MB)
Download
Annexes 26-27
(PDF File, 521.7 KB)
Download
Annexes 29-30
(PDF File, 1.4 MB)
Download
Annex 31 - NERA report
(PDF File, 1.4 MB)
Download
Annexes 32-34
(PDF File, 1.5 MB)
Download
Annex 35
(PDF File, 1.6 MB)
Download
loading icon

View Responses

Responder name Type
JRC.pdf (PDF, 1.6 MB) Individual
KCOM.pdf (PDF, 144.5 KB) Individual
Colt.pdf (PDF, 632.1 KB) Individual
UKCTA.pdf (PDF, 204.2 KB) Individual
IIG.pdf (PDF, 542.2 KB) Individual