Mae'r cynnwys hwn ar gael yn Saesneg yn unig.

Ofcom awards four new community radio licences

22 Chwefror 2018

Ofcom has today announced the award of four new community radio licences in England and Northern Ireland.

The new stations will serve communities in Coleraine and Larne in Northern Ireland, and York in North Yorkshire.

Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular area or community of interest. More than 250 community radio stations are currently on air.

The four new community radio licences have been awarded to:

  • Coast FM
    Broadcasting in Coleraine, Northern Ireland, Coast FM has a range of social objectives aimed at the local community, for example, providing a forum for discussion for young people and students on subjects such as drugs awareness and sexual health.
  • Coast Radio
    Coast Radio will provide a service to Larne, Carnlough and the Borough of Larne coast in Northern Ireland. Members of the Coast Radio team have experience in business, radio, technology, government and working with charitable organisations. It already runs an internet radio service for the area and has secured the use of free premises for the station, and has a number of volunteers who will help to run the new service.
  • Jorvik FM
    Serving the population of York, Jorvik FM’s directors have experience in radio, as well as business, project management, sales, journalism and working with charitable organisations. The service will be based at the media complex of York St John University and its programme plan includes community, educational and specialist content.
  • YO1 Radio
    YO1 Radio will provide a service for York, and its directors have experience in broadcasting, including commercial radio, army radio and the BBC, as well as experience of finance, marketing and social media. It already owns its studio equipment, and plans to operate short regular training courses for volunteers, as well as broadcast workshops at education premises and community facilities.

The licences are awarded for a five-year period.