Our Research Working Group

Published: 14 March 2024
Making sense of media logo

The Research Working Group supports Ofcom’s aim of providing a robust and innovative evidence base to inform our work and that of the broader media literacy sector.

The Research Working Group aims to:

  • inform Ofcom's media literacy and wider online safety research activity; and
  • improve the sector-wide research evidence base in these areas.


  • Irene Andriopoulou, Media Literacy Expert, Analyst and Advocate, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki; ELIAMEP; UNESCO MIL Alliance ISC (co-Secretary General 2019-2022)
  • Vian Bakir, Professor in Journalism and Political Communication, Bangor University
  • Jens Binder, Senior Lecturer in Psychology, course leader Msc Cyberpsychology, Nottingham Trent University
  • Helen Conlon, Market Research Manager, Information Commissioner's Office
  • Belinha De Abreu, President, International Council for Media Literacy
  • Simon Hammond, Lecturer in Education, University of East Anglia
  • Katie Heard, Head of Research and Data Insights, Good Things Foundation
  • Darshana Jayemanne, Lecturer in Games and Arts, Abertay University
  • Sonia Livingstone, Professor of Social Psychology, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Julian McDougall, Professor of Media and Education, Bournemouth University
  • Esperanza Miyake, Chancellor's Fellow in Journalism, Media and Communication, University of Strathclyde
  • Rasmus Nielsen, Professor of Political Communications, Director, Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism, University of Oxford
  • Chryssa Stefanidou, Principal Behavioural Insights Advisor, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Simeon Yates, Professor of Digital Culture, University of Liverpool

The working group is a voluntary forum. Members are appointed by Ofcom for an initial term of 24 months.

Please email us to request a copy of the meeting minutes.

Back to top