Paul Jacobus Floor 4, Competition Group Ofcom, Riverside House 2A Southwark Bridge Road London SE1 9HA

23 June 2010

Dear Mr Jacobus,

Re: Wholesale Mobile Call Termination Review (second Consultation)

We, the undersigned, wish to respond to your current consultation on Mobile Termination Rates (MTRs).

It is our belief that MTRs create an artificial price floor for call charges to mobiles, significantly inflate the cost of calling a mobile and add to the billions which consumers pay each year to mobile phone companies. UK consumers deserve better.

Ensuring that MTRs are set at the cost of making a call (what Ofcom refers to as "pure LRIC" and estimates to be 0.5/minute) will deliver much greater competition, better deals and large savings for customers.

In countries where there are very low termination rates, competition flourishes and consumers get great value. If MTRs were significantly reduced then communications providers would be able to offer all-inclusive flat-rate packages for fixed lines and mobile calls, messaging and internet. This would be of huge benefit to the consumer, charities and other organisations.

We can see no reason why MTRs should not be reduced to this level or lower next year, rather than waiting another four years to happen. Reducing MTRs slowly will only delay benefits to consumers.

As supporters of the Terminate the Rate campaign, we hope that you will take our views, plus those of over 100,000 other individual supporters and campaign partners into account.

It is time to act now to reform this outdated regulation. We urge you to support the dramatic reduction of MTRs as soon as possible, and bring increased choice, competition, and value to the UK consumer now.

We confirm that this email constitutes a formal consultation response which Ofcom can publish.

Yours sincerely,

John Leech MP

Adrian Sanders MP Albert Owen MP Alistair Carmichael MP Andrew Stephenson MP Ann Clwyd MP Anne Main MP Bob Russell MP Clive Betts MP David Amess MP Emily Thornberry MP George Howarth MP Gerry Sutcliffe MP Hugh Bayley MP Ian Davidson MP



Tom Watson MP

James Cunningham MP John Baron MP John Pugh MP John Thurso MP Julian Huppert MP Kate Hoey MP Katy Clark MP Lorely Burt MP Luciana Berger MP Mark Durkan MP Mark Lazarowicz MP Mark Williams MP Martin Caton MP Mary Glindon MP

LEE Scott

Lee Scott MP

Michael Connarty MP Michael Gapes MP Paul Flynn MP Paul Murphy MP Peter Bottomley MP Phil Wilson MP Philip Davies MP Roger Godsiff MP Roger Williams MP Rosie Cooper MP Stephen Pound MP Stephen Twigg MP Tim Farron MP