Commercial multi-user gateway review

  • Start: 16 December 2016
  • Status: Statement published
  • End: 10 February 2017

On 25 September 2017 the Government issued a direction to Ofcom concerning the authorisation of commercial multi-user gateways (COMUGs) used for the purpose of voice calls over a publicly available telephone service or SMS. The direction made under section 5 of the Communications Act 2003, which was made on national security grounds, required that these commercial multi-user gateways could only be authorised by a Wireless Telegraphy Act licence and only in such cases where specific conditions, as outlined in the direction could be met.

In light of the direction, Ofcom did not make the regulations contained in our document “Commercial Multi User Gateway Review Notice of proposed regulations Statement & Notice” (PDF, 1018.1 KB) published on 6 July 2017.

Update 25 April 2019: High Court judgment on Government direction to Ofcom

On 17 April 2019, the High Court issued a judgment in judicial review proceedings which found the Government’s direction of 25 September 2017 to be unlawful. We understand the Government are presently considering their response to the judgment.

We are currently liaising with the Home Office to understand how they wish to proceed given the national security concerns they have identified in relation to the authorisation of COMUGs. We will provide a further update on our next steps as soon as possible.

Update 14 May 2019: High Court order on Government direction to Ofcom

On 13 May 2019 the High Court issued an order suspending its earlier order which quashed the Government’s direction of 25 September 2017 following its judgment that the direction was unlawful. This suspension is to remain in force pending the expiry of the deadline for the Government to file an application for permission to appeal the High Court’s judgment with the Court of Appeal, and, should such an application be filed, pending the Court of Appeal’s determination of that application (or further order of the Court, if sooner). Therefore, for the time being, Ofcom will not be taking action to issue any licence exemption regulations under s.8 WTA06. We will be keeping the position under review to ensure that Ofcom continues to act appropriately.


Main documents

Supporting documents

loading icon

Responses

Responder name Type
Anthony Lloyd-Weston (PDF File, 94.2 KB) Individual
Anthony Lloyd-Weston (response to statement) (PDF File, 335.4 KB) Organisation
Daniel Mahony.pdf (PDF File, 205.6 KB) Individual
David O'Reilly.pdf (PDF File, 122.0 KB) Individual
EE Limited's response _Non_confidential.pdf (PDF File, 308.1 KB) Individual
Load more