Listed events - Six Nations Rugby Tournament 2017

  • Start: 20 December 2016
  • Status: Open
  • End: 16 January 2017

Ofcom has received requests from the BBC and ITV for consent to broadcast exclusive live coverage of the Six Nations Tournament 2017 (‘the events’).

Coverage of the events will be broadcast on ITV1 (home matches of England, Ireland and Italy) and either BBC One or BBC Two (home matches of Wales, Scotland and France).

Six Nations matches involving home countries of the UK are Group B Listed Events under the Broadcasting Act 1996. In accordance with section 101 of the Broadcasting Act 1996, Ofcom’s consent is needed for exclusive live coverage of these events. The rules which apply are set out in the Code on Sports and Other Listed and Designated Events .

If interested parties would like to make any comments on the requests, these should be sent to Ofcom at the address below, by email or letter by no later than 16 January 2017. Unless confidentiality is requested, all such comments will be made available to view on Ofcom's website after the consultation has closed.

Listed Events, Broadcast Licensing
Riverside House, 2a Southwark Bridge Road
London SE1 9HA


View Responses

No responses to show.