Listed events

Ofcom's "Listed events" rules ensure that major sporting events are freely available to all audiences, especially those who cannot afford to watch sport behind a paywall.

The Broadcasting Act 1996 gives the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport the power to draw up a list of sporting events of “national interest”. If a broadcaster wants to show exclusive live coverage of one of these events, it must first apply for Ofcom's consent. Our criteria for giving consent is explained in our Code on sports and other listed and designated events.

Approved applications for listed events

This is a list of listed event applications that Ofcom has approved in the last 12 months.

Older information is available on the National Archives.

Qualifying services

From time to time, Ofcom is required to publish a list of television channels that appear to it to meet certain qualifying criteria – that they are free-to-view and received by 95% of the UK population. Those television channels which meet these two criteria are known as ‘qualifying services’.

As of 24 January 2022, the list of qualifying services consists of:

  • BBC One
  • BBC Two
  • BBC Three (from 1 February 2022)
  • BBC Four
  • BBC News
  • BBC Parliament
  • CBBC
  • CBeebies
  • Channel 3 network (broadcast as ITV, STV, UTV)
  • ITV2
  • ITV3
  • ITV4
  • Channel 4
  • Film 4
  • More 4
  • Channel 5