Apply for a short-term restricted service licence

16 December 2021

Short-term restricted service licences are granted for coverage of events, religious festivals or for trial broadcasts in preparation for applying for a longer-term licence.

Short-term RSL application form (ODT, 71.2 KB)
Updated June 2020

Short-term RSLs: guidance notes for licence applicants and licensees (PDF, 419.2 KB)
Updated June 2020

Short-term RSL sample licence (PDF, 446.0 KB)

2022 period of high demand

We have received short-term RSL applications for the following areas, to broadcast on dates between 30 March and 3 May 2022. We received more than one application for three of those areas and, as laid out in our SRSL notes of guidance, we have conducted draws for those. The order in which the applicant names were pulled from the draws is published below. As published in our notes of guidance, we will now consider whether the first applicant drawn is eligible to hold a licence.

  • Birmingham
  • Blackburn
  • Bradford
  • Glasgow
  • Hounslow
  • Keighley
  • Leeds
  • Leicester
  • London
  • Milton Keynes
  • Oldham
  • Sheffield
  • Stoke on Trent
  • Wolverhampton


  1. Abdul Hamid
  2. Mohammed Usman Razaq
  3. Adbul Razaq
  4. Shahida Tahir
  5. Qaisar Mahmood
  6. Razi Abbas
  7. Mohammed Idrees
  8. Iram Manahil
  9. Shabana Naureen
  10. Iram Jabeen Ali
  11. Raashed Yasin
  12. Anila Aslam
  13. Javed Akhtar Ashraf
  14. Malaika Tokir
  15. Mohammed Munir
  16. Asif Nasar Hussain
  17. Mohammed Zubir
  18. Muhammed Arshad Tabbassum
  19. Omar Mahmood
  20. Saeed Ahmed


  1. Akeel Mahomed Zicar
  2. Hamzah Benrezzouk
  3. Aftab Najib Aboobacar


  1. Mahomed Jussab
  2. Mahomed Arif Karim
  3. Yasin Ebrahim Macci