Consultation: Promoting investment and competition in fibre networks – Wholesale Fixed Telecoms Market Review 2021-26

  • Start: 06 November 2020
  • Status: Closed
  • End: 08 December 2020

Investment in the UK’s telecoms infrastructure is needed to meet growing and future demand for ultrafast broadband. Future broadband networks should provide choice, value and quality. Ofcom’s approach to achieving that has been through encouraging competition between different networks.

This document sets out our detailed plans for regulation from April 2021 of the fixed telecoms markets that underpin broadband, mobile and business connections.

Our aim is to create the best possible conditions for companies to invest in ultrafast broadband so customers in all parts of the UK can enjoy the benefits it provides, while protecting customers as the UK transitions to new, faster fibre networks.

We will publish our decision statement before the new regulation will take effect in April 2021. This review does not cover the Hull area, which will be subject to a separate consultation.

Update 6 November 2020 – further consultation on proposed remedies

We have today published a further consultation (PDF, 494.8 KB) on some changes to our proposed remedies, which we have made following responses to our January 2020 consultation.

The closing date of this consultation is 8 December 2020. We expect to publish our final decision relating to the wholesale fixed telecoms market review by 31 March 2021.

Responding to this consultation

Please submit responses using the consultation response form (ODT, 50.0 KB).


Main documents

Annexes 1-23
(PDF File, 3.8 MB)
Download

Supporting documents

Openreach (Ethernet QoS)
(PDF File, 183.5 KB)
Download

Supporting documents

Stakeholder clarifications
(PDF File, 143.5 KB)
Download
Vodafone clarification
(PDF File, 200.2 KB)
Download
TalkTalk clarification
(PDF File, 146.6 KB)
Download
Openreach clarification
(PDF File, 171.9 KB)
Download
loading icon

Responses

Responder name Type
[Response to November consultation] BUUK (PDF File, 144.3 KB) Organisation
[Response to November consultation] CityFibre (PDF File, 538.2 KB) Organisation
[Response to November consultation] CityFibre (Annex 1) (MS Excel Document, 111.8 KB) Organisation
[Response to November consultation] Community Fibre (PDF File, 144.2 KB) Organisation
[Response to November consultation] County Broadband (PDF File, 178.9 KB) Organisation
Load more