Nations Committee

Functions and role

The functions of the Committee are to:

  • agree the profile and role for each National Advisory Committee;  
  • co-ordinate the activities of each National Advisory Committee, including planning forthcoming agendas and agreeing policy priorities;
  • understand the political dynamics in each nation, and advise on the political engagement by Ofcom in each nation;
  • agree appropriate processes for Ofcom Board and Content Board engagement with each National Advisory Committee; and
  • monitor stakeholder events in each nation, and involvement and engagement from Ofcom Board, Content Board, National Advisory Committee Members and Ofcom Executives.

Members of the Nations Committee are listed below. You can read biographies by clicking on each member's name. Their disclosable interests can be read by referring to the separate disclosable interests pages for the Ofcom Board, Content Board, the Advisory Committee for Wales, the Advisory Committee for England, the Advisory Committee for Northern Ireland and the Advisory Committee for Scotland.

Dame Lynne Brindley DBE

Dame Lynne Brindley was appointed to the Ofcom Board on 1 September 2011. Lynne is the Master of Pemb roke College Oxford, a position she took up in 2013. Before that she was the CEO of the British Library (from 2000 - 2012), where she led a major strategic development and modernisation programme to ensure that the British Library remains relevant, innovative and accessible in the 21st century.

She came to the BL from the University of Leeds where she was Pro-Vice-Chancellor. Previously she was a senior consultant in IS/IT strategy with KPMG and has held leadership positions in IT and knowledge management at Aston University and at the London School of Economics. Lynne is a member of the Council of City University and is on the Court of the Goldsmiths' Company and chairs the Goldsmiths' Centre charity.

She was a council member of the Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC) (from 2009 - 2014), chaired the national Online Learning Taskforce set up by HEFCE and was a member of the UK's Strategic Advisory Board for Intellectual Property (SABIP). Lynne Brindley is Chairman of Ofcom's Nations Committee, a member of the Content Board, and sits on the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Laura Alexander (Chairman, Scotland)

After a Masters degree in Physics and Electronics Laura worked as a Senior Electronic Design engineer in a variety of sectors, including Defence, Mobile Phones and Telecommunications, becoming a Chartered Engineer through the IET (formerly IEE). Laura currently works for the Open University, teaching Science and Technology via various online media including Virtual Learning Environments.

This work includes creating new online materials for courses and moderating online forums, as well as research into effective on-line learning and novel teaching techniques. She has experience as a member of a range of community and sporting bodies including community councils, Parent Councils etc. Laura has 2 young children and so also has a keen awareness of, and interest in, current initiatives in Primary and Secondary education, eg Curriculum for Excellence, Media Literacy etc

John Varney (Chairman, England)

John currently runs his own consultancy, Maximum Clarity, supporting public and private sector bodies with a wide range of technology issues. His previous roles include just under five years as Chief Technology Officer for the BBC and six years as Director of Technology for Granada. In these roles John oversaw the launch of DTT in 7 of the 13 ITV Regions and managed the development of a range of new BBC services including its R&D division.

He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Television Society.

He is a Governor at Manchester Metropolitan University. Through the NESTA Mentoring programme, John works with SMEs across the digital, content and entertainment fields and as a business coach for Enterprising Macclesfield, is guiding arts and heritage organisations.

John Davies (Chairman, Wales)

John Davies is a telecommunications consultant. The former Director of BT Wales and Chief Operations Officer of BT Wholesale, John has an MBA from London Business School. He is a Senior Trustee of E F Sparkes Trust, lives in Cardiff and is Chairman of Adventurers Quay Management Ltd.

Professor Maureen Edmondson (Chairman, Northern Ireland)

Maureen has worked in the food industry for much of her career and has held a number of roles in public sector and not-for-profit organisations. She spent 20 years in International Scientific Affairs at Mars Incorporated and later held public positions at Postwatch, the Food Standards Agency and is currently Chair of the Patient and Client Council. Maureen holds a degree and PhD from Queens University of Belfast and is President of the Institute of Food Science and Technology. She was a member of the Communications Consumer Panel between 2008 and 2012 as the member for Northern Ireland.

Graham Mather

Graham Mather was appointed to the Ofcom Board with effect from 1 June 2014. He is a member of Ofcom's Nations Committee, Nominations Committee, Remuneration Committee and Risk and Audit Committee. Graham Mather was a member of Ofcom's Consumer Panel from 2004 to 2008. He served as a member of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission and, between 2000 and 2012, was also member of the Competition Appeal Tribunal, the body that deals with appeals from the UK regulators. Graham is currently the President of the European Policy Forum and Chairman of its Regulatory Best Practice Group.

Register of disclosable  interests

Nations Committee: Terms of Reference PDF, 38.4 KB